Advancing Zero Waste Policy in Washtenaw County

The Washtenaw Zero Waste Coalition (WZWC) is made up of volunteers including community activists and advocates, local agents of change, subject experts, and representatives from organizations and businesses.

How We Define Zero Waste

Zero Waste: The conservation of all resources by means of responsible production, consumption, reuse, and recovery of products, packaging, and materials without burning and with no discharges to land, water, or air that threaten the environment or human health.

Zero Waste International Alliance

About Us


WZWC Members are not assumed to be representing another organization they may have involvement or employment with.

Chair: Samuel McMullen, ZeroWaste.Org


Barbara Lucas – Member, Ann Arbor chapter of the Citizens’ Climate Lobby

Dan Ezekiel – Former Founding Member, Recycle Ann Arbor. Executive Committee, Sierra Club Huron Valley Group. Washtenaw County Parks and Recreation Commission

Jan Wright – Caucus on Consumption, Waste, and the Climate Crisis | Interfaith Council for Peace and Justice

Jean M Vargas – Chelsea Zero Waste Coalition

John Mirsky -Member and former Chair, Ann Arbor Energy Commission. Member, Ann Arbor Environmental Commission

Mike Garfield – Director, Ecology Center

Pat Stejskal – Member

Stephen C Brown – Conservation Chair, Sierra Club Huron Valley Group. City of Ann Arbor Environmental Commission


WZWC recognizes itself as a coalition of individuals who are motivated to prioritize Zero Waste and offer key areas of expertise to positively impact the values and mission of the Coalition.

How we work…

The Coalition works by consensus of the leadership team. A monthly meeting convenes the leadership team to discuss relevant happenings, prioritize direction, and coordinate initiatives.